Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin

School of Natural Sciences,
Trinity College Dublin,
Dublin2, Ireland


Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin

Founded in 1592, Trinity is at the nexus of tradition and innovation, offering undergraduate and postgraduate programmes across 24 schools and three faculties: arts, humanities, and social sciences; engineering, maths and science; and health sciences. Spread across 47 acres in Dublin’s city centre, Trinity’s 17,000-strong student body comes from all 32 counties of Ireland, and 16% of students come from outside the country. Of those, 40% are from outside the European Union, making Trinity’s campus cosmopolitan and bustling, with a focus on diversity.

As Ireland’s leading university, the pursuit of academic excellence through research and scholarship is at the heart of the Trinity education. Trinity is known for intellectual rigour, excellence, interdisciplinarity, and research-led teaching. Home to Nobel prize-winners such as scientist Ernest Walton and writer Samuel Beckett, Trinity draws visitors from across the world to its historic campus each year, including to the Book of Kells and Science Gallery which capture the university’s connection to both old and new.

The Trinity College Dublin, School of Natural Sciences

The School of Natural Sciences, comprising the Disciplines of Botany, Geography, Geology and Zoology, the Centre for the Environment and the TCBR, is one of the largest schools in the Faculty of Engineering, Mathematics and Science and hosts biological, physical and social scientists. The School currently accommodates 43 academic staff, 26 postdoctoral research fellows and over 150 postgraduate students (including 82 research and 71 taught students). Its taught programmes are varied as the School offers moderatorships (undergraduate degrees) in Earth Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Functional Biology, Geography, Geology, Plant Sciences and Zoology and contributes to other moderatorships including Neurosciences, Geography and Politics and to the Two Subject Moderatorship (TSM) programme ( The School has also a major commitment to graduate teaching and supervision and currently hosts three taught Masters programmes (

Scroll to top